Home Contact / AGBs D Tours Impressum Links
Around Vienna
There are lots of things yet to discover for  visitors. I am going to present to you some of those  highlights.
Klosterneuburg The Augustinian monastery is a baroque  complex, originally planned as a second  "Escorial". Only just a small part was realised - nonetheless it's worthwhile visiting. The Austrian archduke's coronet is exhibited  in monastery's treasury; further more, you  will get to see the Verdun altar, a major piece of medieval craftwork from the 12th century. Last, but not least, the Imperial Apartments  and the museum display many art treasures.
Carnuntum This half-day trip brings you to a Roman  legion camp and town, situated at the ancient limes, the Roman border to the north. Most  probably, it gained its significance as centre  of all Roman camps in Pannonia by its  location: directly at the crossroads of the  Amber Rout and Limes Road, the two main  ancient trade routes. Today, we cannot only  see the huge excavation site, but also catch  some flair of life in the ancient world by  authentic replicas of buildings and at the  museum nearby.
Hainburg Next to Carnuntum you will visit one of the  oldest medieval fortified towns in Vienna's  surrounding area. The Romanesque town wall was built in the 13th century, and you can pass through the Vienna gate yourself. And don't forget to try a glass of the fruity  wine, being in one of Austria's most famous  wine-growing areas.
Hof Palace Prince Eugene of Savoy had not only erected the Belvedere Palace in Vienna, but as well  this splendid baroque edifice. Located amidst Marchfeld, a large vegetable planting area, it  is an outstandingly impressive building  complex, surrounded by baroque gardens with highly elaborated flowerbeds. A show garden and a petting zoo will be of high interest - not only for your children.
Foto: © Stift Klosterneuburg
Foto: © Österreich Werbung / Diejun
Foto: © H. Leban
Foto: Schloss Hof Garten Najadenbrunnen Morgenstimmung / © Reinhard Mandl

Home Touren Kontakt / AGBs E Impressum Links
Rund um Wien
Entdecken Sie auch die Besonderheiten  jenseits der touristischen Zentren - es gibt so  viele davon. Einige Highlights möchte ich  Ihnen kurz vorstellen.
Klosterneuburg Das Stift der Augustiner Chorherren ist eine  barocke Klosteranlage, die einstmals als  zweiter "Escorial" geplant war. Nur ein  kleiner Teil wurde verwirklicht - sehenswert  ist es jedoch allemal. In der Schatzkammer wartet z.B. der  österreichische Erzherzogshut auf Ihre  Besichtigung, in den Klostergängen der  Verduner Altar, ein Hauptwerk des  mittelalterlichen Kunsthandwerks aus dem 12. Jhdt. Auch die Kaiserappartements und das  Klostermuseum halten viele Schätze für Sie  bereit.
Carnuntum Die Besichtigung des römischen  Legionslagers am antiken Limes gelegen ist  einen Halbtag wert. Einst Zentrum der  römischen Lagerstädte in Pannonien, lag  Carnuntum an der Kreuzung der Limes- und  der Bernsteinstraße, zwei der wichtigsten  antiken Handelsrouten. Heute sehen wir nicht nur die riesigen Ausgrabungen, sondern wir  können die Antike durch authentische  Nachbauten und im Museum selbst erleben.
Hainburg an der Donau Gleich neben Carnuntum befindet sich eine  der ältesten mittelalterlichen, befestigten  Städte des Wiener Umlands. Bestaunen Sie  die romanische Stadtmauer aus dem 13. Jhdt. mit dem Wiener Tor - durch das Sie selbst  durchgehen können - und dem Ungarntor. Nicht vergessen: Sie befinden sich hier zudem in der Weinbauregion Carnuntum. Kosten Sie ein Glas des fruchtigen Rot- oder Weißweins.
Schloss Hof Prinz Eugen von Savoyen, Erbauer von  Schloss Belvedere in Wien, war auch der  Erbauer dieses barocken Prachtbaus. Mitten in der üppig grünen Gemüsebauregion  Marchfeld steht ein Märchenschloss, wie es  im Buche steht - eingebettet in eine  atemberaubende barocke Gartenanlage mit  kunstvollen Blumenbeeten. Nicht nur für  Kinder von Interesse ist die schlosseigene  Meierei mit Schaugarten und Streichelzoo.
Foto: © Stift Klosterneuburg
Foto: © Österreich Werbung / Diejun
Foto: © H. Leban
Foto: Schloss Hof Garten Najadenbrunnen Morgenstimmung / © Reinhard Mandl